By September 23



Absent voter ballots must be available for issuance to voters. (168.714)



October 10**

*As the customary 30 day close of registration falls on a Sunday (October 8) and the following Monday is Columbus Day (October 9), the close of registration deadline moves forward toTuesday, October 10


Last day to register for election. (168.497)






By 2:00 p.m.,

November 4



Electors who wish to receive an absent voter ballot for election by mail submit applications. (168.759)


Up to 4:00 p.m.,

November 6



Electors qualified to obtain an absent voter ballot for election may vote in person in clerk’s office. (168.761)


Up to 4:00 p.m.,

November 7


Emergency absentee voting for election. (168.759b)


November 7



General election: November 7, 2017


The city of Detroit, Michigan, is holding elections for mayor, city clerk, and city council in 2017. All nine members of the city council and the city clerk filed for re-election. One incumbent was eliminated in the primary election.


Click here for more information about the Detroit mayoral election. The primary election was on August 8, 2017, and the general election will occur on November 7, 2017.


Primary races were held for all of the city council races except District 5, where only two candidates filed to run. In the other races, the fields were narrowed to two candidates each (the at-large race was narrowed from five candidates to four). All of the incumbents except one advanced from the primary to the general. In District 2, Councilman George Cushingberry Jr. was knocked out the race by Roy McCalister Jr. and former state legislator Virgil Smith. City Clerk Janice Winfrey faced six challengers in the primary election and advanced to the general with Garlin Gilchrist II. Winfrey was first elected in 2005.




At-large (2 open seats)

☐ Janee Ayers (i)
☐ Brenda Jones (i)
☐ Beverly Kindle-Walker
☐ Mary Waters


District 1

☐ James Tate (i)
☐ Tamara Smith


District 2

☐ Roy McCalister Jr.
☐ Virgil Smith


District 3

☐ Scott Benson (i)
☐ Russ Bellant


District 4

☐ Andre Spivey (i)
☐ Latisha Johnson


District 5

☐ Mary Sheffield (i)
☐ Jewel Ware


District 6

☐ Raquel Castaneda-Lopez (i)
☐ Tyrone Carter


District 7

☐ Gabe Leland (i)
☐ Regina Ross


City clerk

☐ Janice Winfrey (i)
☐ Garlin Gilchrist II